From men’s trousers to a cool dress

For this project, I had a pair of trousers that I picked from the broken house. What I liked about them was the material of the trousers, it was 100% wool, and considering we are in Winter season, it really worked as a winter fabric.

This is what the pants were before.

Before

I ripped the seam open in the inner thighs to made a skirt illusion.

9113643538034846306

I started draping and playing around with the front. Mind you, at this moment I really did not know what i was gonna make out of this fabric.

At this point I knew that its gonna be a dress, so i started playing around with the silhouette, the wool fabric is a bit stretchy so Its easy to make a tight fitting dress.

5927220367907161417

I sewed up the Centre front and back seam , cutting open the side for the zipper opening.

9040542594769515600

I decided to add a details using the iron fold that comes naturally in tailored trousers, I thought that would give it some more hmph.

The next step was to create armholes in the bodice area, I traced the arms from the mannequin from one side, and cut through the other side to make both sides uniform. I finishes the armhole with a double folded seam to make it loo professionally finished, then pressed.

I was not really a fun of the length of the dress at this point so i cut it short to make it knee length.

I still was not satisfied with the finish, so I decided to use the left over pieces to make a peplum/frills at the bottom to give it some more funk. The objective for my projects is that  no fabric is left for trash, every piece must be used.  So I try as much as possible to make sure that I do not have any waste. #zerowaste policy.

And viola! here is the finished product. Just for clearance, I added the zipper, I just did not think I need to show the zipper 🙂

And here is me wearing the dress.

Feel free to comment, share and subscribe to the mail list for more feature awesome transformations.

Leave a Reply